Maryland JUCO Announces Men’s, Women’s Lacrosse All Conference Teams

BALTIMORE (May 15, 2018) — The Maryland Junior College Athletic Conference (Maryland JUCO) today announced its 2018 men’s and women’s lacrosse All Conference award recipients. A total of 61 student athletes representing six member institutions earned All Maryland JUCO honors.

Men’s Lacrosse

Harford Community College leads the men’s lacrosse teams with 10 total selections. The Fighting Owls finished 8–6 overall this season, 1–2 in conference play. Howard Community College and Anne Arundel Community College follow closely behind with nine selections each, and CCBC Essex received two.

Howard finished the season 11–3 overall and won the conference title, going 3–0 in Maryland Juco. The Dragons finished the season ranked No. 4 in the nation and were an NJCAA national semifinalist for the second year in a row. Anne Arundel was the second best team in the conference, finishing with an 8–4 overall record and 2–1 in Maryland Juco.

Will Smith (Howard) and Nicholas Perrott (Harford) were selected Maryland JUCO Offensive and Defensive Players of the Year, respectively, as voted on by the conference head men’s lacrosse coaches. Smith ended the season with 58 goals, 34 assists and 92 points, while Perrott finished with 25 caused turnovers and 39 groundballs.

Women’s Lacrosse

Anne Arundel has the most selections on the women’s side with nine representatives, followed closely behind by Harford with eight. The Riverhawks and Fighting Owls combined to go 15–2 in the conference (Co-Maryland Juco Champions) and earned spots in the NJCAA Championship semifinals, with the Fighting Owls finishing as national runner-up.

Howard and CCBC Essex follow with five and four selections, respectively, and Frederick (3) and College of Southern Maryland (2) round out the women’s selections.

The Riverhawks’ Alyssa Baronella-O’Toole and Fighting Owls’ Brooke Siebert were selected Maryland JUCO Offensive and Defensive Players of the Year, respectively, as voted on by the conference head women’s lacrosse coaches. Baronella-O’Toole ended the season with 60 goals, 15 assists and 75 points, while collecting 31 groundballs and 54 draw controls. Siebert played 840 of 900 minutes in goal for the Fighting Owls, finishing with 128 saves, a 10.57 goals against average and 11–3 record.

Visit and follow us on Twitter @MarylandJuco for more information on the Maryland JUCO conference.

# # #

, , ,

About Peace Report Lacrosse Blog

Written and edited by Tom Peace. Peace is a national high school writer. Peace has been in the broadcasting and journalism field for over 15 years.
View all posts by Peace Report Lacrosse Blog →

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.